Child Support

702-834-6300

Child support in Nevada is determined pursuant to NRS 125B.070 and NRS 125B.080. While the Nevada Revised Statutes provide for a mathematical calculation as a base for child support, the child support calculation can be deviated for numerous reasons. The base calculation for child support in Nevada takes into account the child custody arrangement, the income levels of one or both parents, and the “presumptive maximums” for child support.

The first factor in the base calculation for child support is the Child Custody Arrangement. If one parent has primary physical custody of the child, only the noncustodial parent (parent who has visitation) pays child support and the amount is calculated from their gross income from all sources. If the parents share joint physical custody, the child support formula is based on the difference between the two parents.

The following percentages apply, pursuant to NRS 125B.070, to the base child support calculation:

  • One Child   18%
  • Two Children   25%
  • Three Children   29%
  • Four Children   31%
  • Each Additional Child   2%

Presumptive Maximum Child Support Amounts:

Presumptive maximums are used to “cap” the maximum amount of monthly child support according to the paying parent's income. The current presumptive maximums, per child, are based on the paying parent's monthly income as follows: 

Monthly Income Presumptive Maximum
$0-$4235 $681*
$4235-$6351 $749*
$6351-$8467 $820*
$8467-$10585 $886*
$10585-$12701 $955*
$12701-$14816 $1022*
$14816-Unlimited $1092*

These caps change each July*

Other Child Support Factors:

Even though there are base calculations and presumptive maximums, there are  factors that can also affect child support amounts including, but not limited to: Private school tuition, health insurance, day care expenses, academic tutoring, child support payments for other children, sport and other extra-curricular activity costs, and special medical needs. Child Support is typically paid until the child reaches the age of 18, or 19 if the child is still attending high school. 

Serving Your Legal Needs

David Jacks brings to the table over a decade of legal experience. When you need an attorney who will stand up for you and your interests, contact The Jacks Law Group.

Menu